All about us


Efficient public transport is essential for a business and cultural city such as Basel. With its comprehensive route network and frequent services, BVB facilitates the mobility of people in the city and nearby areas and links Basel with neighbouring countries. It helps to reduce traffic, thus contributing to a higher quality of life and environmental protection.

Public transport is very popular in Basel. BVB transports over 132 million passengers annually. That is 360,000 people every day. 83 trams circulate along nine tramlines, and 82 buses operate on 13 bus routes. If one was to calculate the distance travelled by all BVB vehicles, this would be equivalent to travelling around the globe once every day.

Over 1,200 BVB employees ensure the smooth running of our services 365 days a year. BVB was first founded in 1895. Today, it operates more than 190 kilometres of tram lines and bus routes in Basel-City and the surrounding area as the largest partner of the North-Western Switzerland Tariff Association (TNW). With the extension of tram line 8 to Weil am Rhein, trams have been running to Germany again since December 2014, and with the extension of tram line 3 to Saint-Louis, they have been running to France again since December 2017. This makes the BVB the only municipal transport company in the world to connect three countries via tram line.  BVB is modernising its fleet over the next few years: At the end of 2014, the first two of a total of 61 new FLEXITY trams were taken into service. Delivery of the new tram fleet will continue until Spring 2018.

BVB has been run since 2006 as a public sector body, 100 percent owned by the Basel-City canton.

Facts at a glance

Type of business entity  public sector Body

Catchment area Basel-City, Binningen, Bottmingen, Schönenbuch, Allschwil, Birsfelden, Muttenz, Pratteln, Riehen, Bettingen, Weil am Rhein (D), Haltingen (D) and Grenzach-Wyhlen (D), Saint-Louis (F, from December 2017)

Number of employees 1’241 persons

Number of passengers 132,01 million

Transport performance (in passenger kilometres/year)  298,69 million

Route length Tram: 68.3 km
Bus: 112,7 km

Number of vehicles Trams (excluding service vehicles): 117 engines, 39 passenger carriages, as well as 14 vintage engines and 10 passenger carriages; Buses: 7 small buses, 14 standard buses and 94 articulated buses (total 115), as well as 1 vintage bus

Kilometres travelled (Trams and buses)  12,667 million

Edition: 31.12.2016

Comments are closed

Porträt

Porträt

Für eine Wirtschafts- und Kulturstadt wie Basel sind leistungsfähige öffentliche Verkehrsmittel unentbehrlich. Mit ihrem dichten Streckennetz und kurzen Taktfolgen fördert die BVB die Mobilität der Menschen in der Stadt sowie der näheren Agglomeration und verbindet Basel mit dem benachbarten Ausland. Sie hilft, den Strassenverkehr zu entlasten und trägt damit zu einer hohen Lebensqualität und Schonung der Umwelt bei.

Die öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel sind in Basel sehr beliebt. Die BVB befördert pro Jahr über 132 Millionen Fahrgäste. Das sind täglich über 360‘000 Personen. Auf neun Tramlinien verkehren 83 Tramkompositionen, dazu bedienen 82 Busse 13 Buslinien. Rechnet man die Fahrleistung aller BVB-Fahrzeuge zusammen, so umrunden diese jeden Tag einmal die Erde.

Über 1‘200 BVB-Mitarbeitende sorgen 365 Tage im Jahr für einen reibungslosen Betrieb. 1895 gegründet, betreibt die BVB heute als grösste Partnerin im Tarifverbund Nordwestschweiz (TNW) in Basel-Stadt und Umgebung mehr als 190 Kilometer Tram- und Buslinien. Seit Dezember 2014 verkehrt mit der verlängerten Tramlinie 8 nach Weil am Rhein (D) erstmals wieder ein Tram nach Deutschland. Derzeit wird die Verlängerung der Tramlinie 3 nach Saint Louis gebaut. Die Inbetriebnahme ist auf Ende 2017 vorgesehen. Die BVB modernisiert in den nächsten Jahren ihre Fahrzeugflotte: Ende 2014 wurden die ersten beiden von insgesamt 61 neuen FLEXITY-Trams in Betrieb genommen. Die Auslieferung der neuen Tramflotte erfolgt bis Frühling 2018.

Die BVB wird seit 2006 als öffentlich-rechtliche Anstalt geführt, die sich zu 100 Prozent im Besitz des Kantons Basel-Stadt befindet.

Die Fakten im Überblick


Organisationsform öffentlich-rechtliche Anstalt

Erschliessungsgebiet Basel-Stadt, Binningen, Bottmingen, Schönenbuch, Allschwil, Birsfelden, Muttenz, Pratteln, Riehen, Bettingen, Weil am Rhein (D), Haltingen (D) und Grenzach-Wyhlen (D), Saint-Louis (F, ab Dezember 2017)

Personalbestand 1’241 Personen

Anzahl Fahrgäste 132,01 Mio.

Beförderungsleistung (in Personen-km/Jahr) 298,69 Mio.

Linienlängen Tram: 68,3 km
Bus:    112,7 km

Anzahl Fahrzeuge Tram (exkl. Dienstfahrzeuge): 117 Motorwagen, 39 Anhängerwagen, dazu 14 Oldtimer-Motorwagen und 10 -Anhänger; Bus: 7 Kleinbusse, 14 Normalbusse und 94 Gelenkbusse (Total 115), dazu 1 Oldtimerbus

Kurskilometer (Tram & Bus) 12,667 Mio.

Stand: 31.12.2016

Kommentare sind geschlossen