All about us

Portrait

Efficient public transport is essential for a business and cultural city such as Basel. With its comprehensive route network and frequent services, BVB facilitates the mobility of people in the city and nearby areas and links Basel with neighbouring countries. It helps to reduce traffic, thus contributing to a higher quality of life and environmental protection.

Public transport is very popular in Basel. BVB transports nearly 131 million passengers annually. That is nearly 359,000 people every day. 85 trams circulate along nine tramlines, and 88 buses operate on 13 bus routes. If one was to calculate the distance travelled by all BVB vehicles, this would be equivalent to travelling around the globe once every day.

Over 1,200 BVB employees ensure the smooth running of our services 365 days a year. BVB was first founded in 1895. Today, it operates nearly 182 kilometres of tram lines and bus routes in Basel-City and the surrounding area as the largest partner of the North-Western Switzerland Tariff Association (TNW). With the extension of tram line 8 to Weil am Rhein, trams have been running to Germany again since December 2014, and with the extension of tram line 3 to Saint-Louis, they have been running to France again since December 2017. This makes the BVB the only municipal transport company in the world to connect three countries via tram line.

BVB is modernising its fleet over the next few years: At the end of 2014, the first two of a total of 61 new Flexity trams were taken into service. Delivery of the new tram fleet will continue until Spring 2018.

BVB has been run since 2006 as a public sector body, 100 percent owned by the Basel-City canton.

Facts at a glance


Type of business entity  public sector Body

Catchment area Basel-City, Binningen, Bottmingen, Schönenbuch, Allschwil, Birsfelden, Muttenz, Pratteln, Riehen, Bettingen, Weil am Rhein (D), Haltingen (D) and Grenzach-Wyhlen (D), Saint-Louis (F)

Number of employees 1’255 persons

Number of passengers 130,66 million

Transport performance (in passenger kilometres/year)  296,24 million

Route length Tram: 69,6 km
Bus: 112,3 km

Number of vehicles Trams (excluding service vehicles): 109 engines, 31 passenger carriages, as well as 15 vintage engines and 10 vintage passenger carriages; Buses: 6 small buses, 14 standard buses and 94 articulated buses (total 114), as well as 1 vintage bus

Kilometres travelled (Trams and buses)  12,70 million

Edition: 31.12.2017

Comments are closed

Portrait

Portrait

Des transports publics efficaces sont indispensables pour une ville de culture et d’activité économique comme Bâle. Avec son vaste réseau de lignes et ses cadences rapprochées, la BVB favorise la mobilité en ville ainsi que dans l’agglomération proche, et relie Bâle aux pays voisins. En désencombrant la circulation routière, ils contribuent à une meilleure qualité de vie et préservent l’environnement.

Les transports publics sont très populaires à Bâle. La BVB transporte presque 131 millions de passagers par an. Cela représente presque 359 000 personnes par jour. 85 compositions de trams circulent sur neuf lignes, auxquels s’ajoutent 88 autobus desservant 13 lignes. Si on additionne la performance de tous les véhicules de la BVB, ceux-ci effectuent le tour de la Terre chaque jour.

365 jours par an, plus de 1200 employés veillent au bon fonctionnement du réseau BVB. Fondée en 1895, la BVB représente le plus grand partenaire du groupement tarifaire de la Suisse du Nord-Ouest à Bâle-Ville et dans l’agglomération. À ce titre, elle gère presque 182 kilomètres de lignes de tram et de bus. Depuis décembre 2014, des trams relient à nouveau l’Allemagne par la prolongation de la ligne 8 jusqu’à Weil am Rhein (D) et, depuis décembre 2017, à nouveau la France par la prolongation de la ligne 3 jusqu’à Saint-Louis. De ce fait, la BVB est la seule entreprise de transport urbain au monde à relier trois pays par le tramway.

La BVB prévoie de moderniser son parc de véhicules dans les prochaines années : fin 2014, les deux premiers trams Flexity ont fait leur entrée à Bâle, sur un total de 61. L’ensemble de la nouvelle flotte de trams devrait être livré d’ici au printemps 2018.

Depuis 2006, la BVB fonctionne comme un établissement de droit public dont le Canton de Bâle-Ville est propriétaire à 100 %.

Les faits en bref


Structure organisationelle Établissement de droit public

Réseau d’exploitation Bâle-Ville, Binningen, Bottmingen, Schönenbuch, Allschwil, Birsfelden, Muttenz, Pratteln, Riehen, Bettingen, Weil am Rhein (Allemagne), Haltingen (Allemagne) et Grenzach-Wyhlen (Allemagne), Saint-Louis (France)

Effectifs 1’255 personnes

Nombre de passagers 130,66 millions

Capacité de transport (en passagers-km/an) 296,24 millions

Longueur des lignes Tram: 69,6 km
Bus: 112,3 km

Nombre de véhicules Tram (sauf véhicules de service): 109 motrices, 31 remorques, plus 15 motrices et 10 remorques « Oldtimer »; Bus: 6 minibus, 14 bus normaux et 94 bus articulés(total 114), plus 1 bus « Oldtimer »

Courses-kilomètres (trams et bus) 12,702 millions

État au: 31.12.2017

Les commentaires sont clos.